top of page

Summer Odds and Ends You Have to Try

In the last few months I've tried a lot of random, interesting products that I haven't had the time to talk about as in depth as I'd like. From skincare to clothes to beverages, I have a ton of miscellaneous items that I've been loving this summer that I know you all need to try! Now that summer is coming to an end, I thought there was no better time to round up all the bits and bobs I've been enjoying.


Starting off with beverages, I've really loved trying out the BrightFox Hydration Range. I was gifted the 24 pack of the Blueberry + Vanilla Sparkling Hydration Beverage, and I've been thoroughly enjoying them all summer long. I finally finished my last bottle the week before I left for school (yes, I was rationing them out!), and I'm so sad I don't have any in my fridge here at JMU! The flavor is really nice; not too sweet, very refreshing, and more flavorful than your average sparkling drink. It has 3x the electrolytes than a normal sports drink and is packed with vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants. I could definitely tell the difference in energy after drinking these after a workout rather than a water or Gatorade; I almost immediately felt more hydrated and less tired. They also are so great for preventing/recovering from a hangover. I had these on hand during my beach vacay, and it was so refreshing after a long day out in the sun, drinking and tanning.


I also love the packaging! I'm a sucker for cool branding, and these aluminum bottles look so interesting and feel high quality.


I definitely recommend trying these out if you're into working out or you're looking for a new hangover cure! I feel very hydrated after simply drinking one, and I am excited to eventually try some other flavors. The 24 packs are quite expensive, so I highly recommend trying their 3 pack of different flavors before you buy the larger size.



Over the last few weeks I've also been trying out poppi! I was gifted a couple boxes of their prebiotic soda, and I'm obsessed! I rarely, if ever, drink soft drinks, but I had heard so many amazing things about these gut healthy drinks and I just had to try them. They are great for gut health, boosting your immunity, and they only have 4 to 5 grams of sugar in each can! They are made with apple cider vinegar, which has a plethora of health benefits (better digestion, refined complexion, and more energy to name a few).


These taste SO GOOD! Honestly, I was surprised by how delicious they are. You can definitely tell there is something in there that's not like your normal soda (hello, apple cider vinegar!) but it tastes almost sweeter and definitely more thirst-quenching than any soft drink I've ever had. Some of my favorite flavors so far are Strawberry Lemon, Ginger Lime, and Watermelon. My favorite thing about poppi is that each drink has its own interesting, yummy flavor! No two drinks taste similar, so there's definitely a flavor out there for everyone.


The packaging is so fun and exciting, and it makes me love the drinks even more. They're just so aesthetically pleasing!



On to some skincare products! This is the most recent skincare purchase I've made. I've actually only been using this product for the last two weeks, but it's immediately become a staple in my skincare routine, and I don't know how I ever lived without it! The CeraVe Skin Renewing Night Cream has been saving my skin lately; I wake up with incredibly soft, glowing skin every day now- no, seriously! It's a rather thick consistency, and it makes the skin feel so smooth immediately after application. It's not scented, so it's perfect for sensitive skin. I find that it really leaves my skin looking glowing and fresh. I've been using this every night for two weeks, and I've found that my skin looks way clearer than it did before using it! I highly recommend adding this to your skincare routine (and if you buy it through my link above ^ you'll be supporting your girl!)



Another product I've been using non-stop this summer has been my High Beauty high expectations facial oil. I actually just recently ran out, and I'm definitely going to buy some more! I find that this gives me that extra hydration my skin craves, and really reduces the redness and inflammation in my sensitive skin. Any time I got a sunburn, I'd apply this face oil and it would help heal it so easily! I swear by this stuff, it's honestly a miracle product and by far my favorite product in their line. If you're interested in adding this to your skincare lineup, use my code HIGHSONYA for some money off your first purchase of $40 +!





Clothing wise, I really only have a few items that I feel like I have to share with you all. First up is just a classic white button down I bought from the men's section of H&M two years ago that I recently started styling again! The one linked may not be exactly the same as mine, but it's incredibly close! I went up to a size large for an oversized fit. I wear this tied and off the shoulder, unbuttoned over basic/ tiny tops, and half tucked into shorts. I really loved wearing this over the summer, and I think it's a great transitional piece going into fall. It is also great to layer over other pieces.


I also loved this bag over the summer and think it will work really well in fall, too! It's a fanny pack style, but I wear it as a crossbody or over the shoulder- I think it looks better and much chicer that way. It holds a lot of makeup products you'd likely carry around with you throughout the day, a wallet, your phone, and (depending on the size) a hairbrush!



On to the accessories I have for you all. Firstly, here are these awesome blue light blocking glasses! I had a ton of commissions over the summer, so I was constantly on Illustrator for hours every day. My eyes would get so tired and irritated after staring at my laptop for so long, so I caved and bought these glasses from Amazon. I love them! They work amazing! They are very oversized, definitely a very funky/retro style, but I think they look great. They have definitely helped protect my eyes, and I noticed a difference when I started using them.



These claw clips might be my favorite accessory purchase yet! I love the claw clip trend, and I thought these metallic ones were so fun and would go with everything- I was right! I wear these all the time; they are perfect for lazy day hairstyles, for a more polished chic look, and for the gym. You can actually do so many different styles with these clips. I also love that they come in silver, rose gold, and gold because you can choose which ones work best with your outfit. They are also large enough to hold all my hair without being too big or heavy, which is perfect.


I hope you enjoyed my roundup of my summer favorites! Remember, if you shop through my links you'll be supporting me, which I greatly appreciate! I'm hoping to have another blog post up soon talking all about how to prevent dreaded maskne (mask acne for those who don't know), so subscribe to my blog to be notified of new posts. Like, share, and/or comment if you enjoyed this blog post! Thanks for the read, babes!

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page