top of page

Wear Your Damn Sunscreen!

Yes, even in the gloomy cold of winter, you must apply that SPF to your face!


I've always understood the importance of wearing sunscreen on your face everyday, but could never actually do it; I've always had sensitive, acne prone skin and could never find a sunscreen that didn't break me out or leave me looking and feeling super greasy. Because of this, I only applied sunscreen at the beach or pool (and honestly, not that successfully). However, now that I'm twenty-one, it has been drilled into my head that sunscreen is a major key to maintaining my healthy, youthful skin. I need to get into the habit now before it's too late to save my face!


Over the past two weeks I've been consistently using a sunscreen every morning as part of my skincare routine, and I am impressed! If you're someone that hasn't found the right sunscreen yet or you're ready to start adding sunscreen into your routine but aren't sure where to start, this is the blog post for you.


What are the benefits?

Besides the obvious fact that sunscreen protects your skin from harmful UV rays that can cause cancer, applying a daily facial sunblock provides numerous other benefits.

1) Sunscreen helps to prevent early signs of aging, such as fine lines and wrinkles. Starting a sunscreen routine while you're younger will help to keep your skin looking youthful for longer.

2) It protects proteins in your skin that keep your face looking bouncy and smooth. Limit texture by applying that sunblock!

3) Sunscreen can help even out your skin tone. UV rays can cause your skin to have uneven pigmentation and redness, so applying sunblock daily is a great step to more even skin.


What are the types of sunscreen?

There are physical and chemical sunscreens available, and what route you choose to go is completely up to what you prefer. Physical sunscreen sits on top of the skin to protect from and reflect the sun's rays. Chemical sunscreen, on the other hand, absorbs into the skin, absorbs UV rays and converts them into heat, then releases them from the body. Physical sunscreens are better for those who have sensitive skin or need more of a hydrating sunscreen, while chemical sunscreens are best for those who are swimming or sweating.



What have I been using?

I started using the Toleriane Double Repair Facial Moisturizer with SPF 30 every morning, and I am in LOVE! I bought mine from Walgreens for $19.99, but you can also purchase it from their website. I really enjoy that it's a moisturizer with SPF put in because it's a little easier than figuring out what should come first, sunscreen or moisturizer? There's no need to think about it because it's an all-in-one product. There are debates about if using a stand alone SPF is better than using a moisturizer SPF, but at the end of the day using any kind of sun protection is better than no protection at all. What's important to remember is that you will need to reapply your sunscreen every few hours. If you plan to spend prolonged time in the sun, use a stand alone SPF repeatedly throughout the day.


Has it made a difference?

Yes! It absolutely has! My skin looks softer than it ever has and is so smooth. Besides some hormonal breakouts I've had, I've had no other breakouts from using this sunscreen and it almost seems to be preventing acne from reappearing. My skin looks blurred and glowing after applying it, not greasy or oily in the slightest. It may be my imagination, but I feel as if the fine lines I have in my forehead are not as pronounced anymore, too! I genuinely love the consistency of the product and how hydrating it is. It doesn't have an overpowering scent, and it doesn't leave a white cast on the skin. Overall, it's a 10 out of 10 product for me, and I'm excited to continue using it!

Recent Posts

See All

Hozzászólások


bottom of page