top of page

How To Make 2020 Your Bitch







As 2019 is coming to an end, the usual yearly roundups of everyones' big dreams and greatest accomplishments are overflowing Instagram and Facebook feeds around the world. It is easy to feel overwhelmed by this, easy to feel the pressure to make this upcoming year your best year yet. While I am all for setting goals and absolutely demolishing them (because let's be honest, there are few better feelings than the feeling of success), living a full 365 days in fear that you won't completely crush every single one of your goals is just unhealthy.

So how do you make 2020 your year without losing your mind and drive?


Take a deep breath and don't take anyones' shit.


For me, the only way I've ever been able to accomplish anything successfully is to have a productive, peaceful mindset while taking the steps to achieve my goals. Anytime I've ever stressed or rushed through something, I've only ended up hating the process of reaching any of my objectives instead of what I should be doing- enjoying the journey. And having a clear, positive head is way easier said than done, but there are three ways I find that make achieving that state of mind a little less difficult:


1. Have patience. This seems like a no-brainer, but it truly is more vital than anyone gives it credit for. I think everyone struggles to find patience when you want the results right now. However, nothing is immediate and nothing is just given freely. You have to put the work in and have faith that the progress you make and your determination will be rewarded.

2. Find some sort of joy every step of the way. If you dread having to do something, you aren't likely to keep doing it- it's that simple. Whether it's staying on a fitness schedule or spending less time on your phone, you won't feel inclined to continue the path you're on if every day you feel bored or discontent. Search for at least one thing each day that makes what you're striving for worth it- you felt more energetic today, you became closer with a friend, you made an interesting memory- and let those small wins give you the confidence to keep pushing through everyday until you make things a habit.

3. Move in silence. I personally find that anytime I tell someone my goals or plans it always jinxes me- and maybe that's just me being superstitious, but I find that when I keep things to myself and just decide to do the damn thing, I get so much more accomplished. Plus, there's less embarrassment and disappointment in myself if I have some downs along the way. I think that when you tell everyone your plans, you're more likely to give up. However, some people really thrive by telling others the master plan- so take this tip with a grain of salt since everyone works differently.


Now that you have the right frame of mind, it's time push those that don't believe in you out of the picture- even if it is until you reach your goal. And no, this doesn't mean cut everyone out of your life (although, if the people you surround yourself with aren't going to cheer you on and lift you up, then why keep them around?), but make sure you set your boundaries. Listening to other peoples' opinions or critiques can make you question yourself. There are always going to be people that want to see you fail, that will be jealous of the progress you make, but you can't let them get to you- again, easier said than done, but allowing someone to make you feel small will only hinder your growth. Keep your head held high. Your happiness should mean more to you than the opinion of people that aren't in your corner. Just wish them the best as you focus on your journey.


It's the end of a decade, y'all. Make this the end of self-doubt, of second-guessing, of too much time spent wishing instead of doing. So how will you make 2020 your bitch? By simply saying it is and taking on each day as it comes.

87 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page