top of page

Black Owned Beauty and Skincare Brands to Buy From Today


I took a very necessary break from the blog and Instagram in order to focus on a movement that deserves more of my attention. Instead of posting pictures or writing up blog posts about fashion or beauty, I've been donating to causes supporting the Black Lives Matter movement when I can, signing petitions left and right, and trying my best to educate myself and others. I'm using my platforms to help spread a message, and I implore any of you reading this to do the same! Although we may be seeing the BLM posts and stories die down on social media, that doesn't mean that this matter is over. I will continue to post about BLM related events, anti-racist tips and education, and petitions to sign! You can find a lot of helpful and important posts on my BLM highlight on my instagram (@sonya.e.ricker).


Today's post is just one in a series of posts I am making about black owned businesses. I think it's important to acknowledge that many brands have not stood up or shown any support for black and POC people, especially during these protests happening around the world. In this post I have found quite a few black owned brands that you can purchase some amazing products from! While they may not all be able to replace every other brand you buy from, I think it is a step in the right direction.


I stumbled upon Black Diamond Apothecary while scrolling through Instagram one day. Immediately what caught my eye was the gorgeous packaging; all the jars are made of glass and are completely reusable and recyclable. The names of the products were so cute and all the colors just looked so dreamy. Black Diamond Apothecary is cruelty-free, vegan, and eco-friendly, so it ticked off all the boxes for me! I've been really trying to use more vegan and natural ingredient products, so I was really excited to find this brand.

So far they carry three different body butters and three different body polishes. They must be fantastic because all of the polishes are sold out currently! One of the body butters is currently in my cart, and I can't wait to try it out and share my thoughts with you all!




This brand uses some absolutely beautiful ingredients from the African Diaspora. This is another vegan and natural brand, so if you're looking for something that fits that criteria I highly recommend trying Pholk out! They have so many different skincare products to choose from, and I'm personally really excited to order their Honeysuckle Rose Face Mist! Their packaging is drool worthy, and something I would be incredibly proud to show off on my skincare shelf.




Flower and Folk is another vegan, cruelty free, and eco-friendly brand. They make handmade soaps, soy candles, and wax melts! The soaps are absolutely beautiful and are made of some lovely ingredients, and the packaging of everything is very indie and precious. These would make really great gifts!




This is a makeup brand that sells lipglosses, liquid lipsticks, and false eyelashes. They are a vegan brand and the colors of their lip products are so stunning! they have a few different options of false lashes to that are pretty breathtaking, so I would definitely recommend checking them out.




This is actually a fairly popular hair care brand, but not many know that it is black owned! I've seen so many great reviews and videos about Briogeo, so I have very high hopes for their products. They have products for every hair type and hair need, plus the packaging is lovely!


Here are some petitions you can sign while you're at it!

32 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page